The Tu Hieu Pagoda in Hue is located at Duong Xuan Thuong hamlet, in Thuy Xuan village, 5km southwest of Hue. The pagoda is considered sacred by locals, and the eunuchs of the Royal household are buried in its surrounds.
Tu Hieu pagoda
The pagoda was originally a small hut built by Nhat Dinh in 1843, who was formerly recognized by royal authority as Giac Hoang Pagoda. In 1848, the pagoda was restored and added to by monk Cuong Ky with the help of the king’s eunuchs and courtiers. Tu Hieu hence became a larger pagoda, complete with a half-moon lake. In 1962, the pagoda was renovated by Most Ven. Chon Thiet, and in 1971 the three entrance gate and the staff houses were rehabilitated by senior monk Chi Niem.
The pagoda was built in the shape of the Chinese character “Khau” (mouth), and the main building consists of three rooms and two wings, with the main sanctuary devoted to the worship of Buddha. At the rear there is a room honoring former monks of the pagoda. Across a courtyard, the Quang Hieu Duong Hall houses an altar dedicated to local Buddhist devotees on the right, another devoted to the Quan Cong deity in the center, and a third to the eunuchs on the left. A separate altar in this hall honors Le Van Duyet, an outstanding mandarin during the reign of Emperor Gia Long. On the left side of the courtyard are the living quarters of the monks (Ta Lac Thien) and to Tu Hieu, and right is the guest-house (Huu Ai Nhat).
The entrance gate to the pagoda is a curved two storey structure, and on the second storey, a statue of the guardian spirit Ho Phap protects the pagoda. Inside the gate is the crescent shaped lotus pond. The history of the pagoda is engraved on both sides of the courtyard.